2014 Race 1 @ UndeRing

Winter is over and we finally get to race outside with our Short Course Trucks. First race of 2014 is held on the new urban track of UndeRing in Brussels. Track is nicely located within a public park, under the highway bridge. Layout is interesting and surface quite slippy. Along the day the track deteriorates but it’s offroad afterall. Club crew is very welcoming and organises things smoothly for what is their first event ever.

Philippe Hautecoeur (Associated SC10) runs a pretty weird but effective tire setup on his Pro2 car, with astroturf tires on this slippy track. It allows him to run fast and consistant and take the TQ, in front of Julian André (Associated SC10) and Martin Viérin (Associated SC10).

In Pro4, Thierry Matthieu (Tekno SCT410) shows a great pace and takes TQ in Pro4 in front on Nicolas Evens (TLR Ten-SCTE).


During Pro2 finals, Philippe has trouble to convert his TQ and Julian André goes up from his 3rd starting position to take the win in leg 1 ahead of Nicolas Evens (TLR 22SCT) and Martin Vierin. Bumpy track is error prone and top 3 cars are separated by 3 second gaps. Julian can’t repeat in leg 2 as he faces an issue on his car and retires after one lap. Martin takes the win ahead of Philippe and Nicolas. At start of final leg, Julian, Martin and Nicolas still have a shot at winning. Unfortunately Martin retires after 4 laps while Julian drives strong and takes the win ahead of Nicolas. Martin still gets second overall thanks to his win in leg 2.


2WD A Main
1. André Julian – Associated SC10

2. Vierin Martin – Associated SC10
3. Evens Nicolas – TLR 22SCT
4. Hautecoeur Philippe – Associated SC10
5. Gustin Philippe – Associated SC10
Full results

In Pro4, Thierry sweeps all final legs, the first one being very close with a great pass over Nicolas in the last corner of the last lap. Cars are 0,111 seconds apart on the finish line! Nicolas finishes all legs in second place while Christophe followed in third.


4WD A Final
1. Mathieu Thierry – TeknoRC SCT410
2. Evens Nicolas – Losi Ten-SCTE
3. Leurquin Christophe – TeknoRC SCT410
4. De Keersmaecker Philip – TeknoRC SCT410
5. Vandeuren Alain – TeknoRC SCT410
Full results

Race’s prize ceremony saw the usual draw where the sponsors gifts are offered to the racers.

1 DE Racing Trinidad T-Shirt XL Blue (DER-ST4-B)
1 DE Racing Zip Stix Blue 1/10 (DER-ZS-B)
1 DE Racing Zip Stix Black 1/10 (DER-ZS-BLK) for Thierry Mathieu
1 DE Racing Zip Stix Green 1/10 (DER-ZS-G) for Philip De Keersmaecker
2 DE Racing Borrego SC Wheels (DER-SCB-LB) for Christophe Leurquin
2 Gens Ace batteries 6500mAh 50C for Patrick Tytgat and Jérémy Catherine
1 JConcepts 25$ gift certificates for Thomas Lété
1 JConcepts Illuzion – Matte Black – Shock, Ipad, Iphone stand (2092M) for Jean-Christophe Biefnot
2 Proline Blockade SC 2.2″/3.0″ M3 (1183-02) for Philippe Gustin and Raphael Janssen
1 Team Associated Factory Team Thread Locking Adhesive, blue (1596) for Elisa André
2 Team Associated FT Low Friction Ball Cup (7499) for Edouard-Benoît Michez
1 Team Associated 12mm Aluminum Clamping Wheel Hex, SC10 Rear, T4 Front/Rear (9892) for Alain Vandeuren
1 Team Associated 12mm Aluminum Clamping Wheel Hex, SC10 Front (9893) for Alain Vandeuren
3 VRC USB adaptors and 3 months all-in subscriptions for Thierry Mathieu, Julian André and Thomas Lété



Thanks to all participants, see you in May!


External links

RedRC race report

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.