2017 Race 7 @ BCA

The last round of the Cup takes place at the indoor astro track of the Black Country Arena, as usual. This year however, the track has been completely revamped, as the new owner, Christophe Meert, changed not only the track layout, but also the drivers’ location. This new layout offers a moderate grip astro surface with “stop and go” hairpins, high steep corner, a funny winding section on painted concrete and a wooden table jump. All is set for the drivers to fully enjoy this last round!

In Pro2 Qualifying, Géry Ledocq (Kyosho SC6) takes the TQ (and a step forward towards the Pro2 national title) by winning the two first heats in front of Nicolas Evens (TLR 22SCT). Those two drivers are the only ones achieving 15 laps. Having secured the pole position, Gery decides not to run the last heat, which is topped by Nicolas in front of Tom Vercarre (TRL 22 SCT) and an impressive Guillaume Laffut (TeamC TM2SC) who confirms his good performance of the second heat, where he already finished third. The second place of Tom in this heat allows him to reach the A-final at 8th spot, after two heats tainted with mechanical issues. His contender for the third place of the championship, Stéphane Lecomte (Associated SC5M) will start from the 4th spot, having also experienced some problems of his own (from which, a nice serie of barrel rolls in the straight flat out section that left him with a broken wishbone). 

Pro2 A Main grid – Top 3
1. Ledocq Géry – Kyosho SC6
2. Evens Nicolas – TLR 22SCT
3. Guillaume Laffut – TeamC TM2SC

In Pro4 Qualifying, Nicolas Evens did not enter this round, as he had already secured the championship from the previous race, in order to fully concentrate on his Pro2 championship title battle with Géry Ledocq. Sam Damman (TLR Ten-SCTE) secured the TQ after winning the two first qualifying heats, while Eric Clerix (Tekno 410SCT) was showing a good consistency by finishing runner-up of two heats. Fabio Cumps (TLR Ten-SCTE)  performed really well in the last heat, winning it and taking the second spot of the starting grid in A-finals, right in front of Eric.

Pro4 A Main grid – Top 3
1. Damman Sam – TLR Ten-SCTE
2. Fabio Cumps – TLR Ten-SCTE
3. Eric Clerix – Tekno 410SCT

In Pro2 A-Finals, Géry wins the first heat, according to his own words “keeping it on the safe side” as he was a little bit nervous not to make any mistake. This paid off pretty well and he left Nicolas 6 seconds behind for the second spot. No place for any mistake indeed… The young but talented Guillaume Laffut (TeamC TM2SC) is the only one to achieve 14 laps behind the two championship contenders and secures a nice third place in this first heat. The second heat is a little bit tighter, but with a win by 4 seconds in front of Nicolas, Géry can sit back and relax, having secured the national title! Behind them, the newcomer Maxime de Gauquier (TLR 22SCT) makes a very good impression by taking the third place. From touring cars to short course trucks, this is a nice achievement since the handling of those trucks is quite different. Before the last heat, as Géry decides not to run, Stéphane and Tom still have the opportunity to settle the last battle for the third place of the championship. Everything was still possible indeed, and the fight was close, clean and fun between those two during this last race. Tom crosses the finish line fourth in front of Stéphane and thus secures this third spot for the Belgian SCT Cup. In front of them, Nicolas wins in front of Maxime and Edouard-Benoît Michez (Associated SC5M) only 1.8 seconds behind. This result grants the third place of the day for Maxime, for his first run in the serie – touring cars are a good school for SCT it seems. Unfortunately, a mechanical issue prevented Guillaume to defend properly his first podium ever in a SCT Cup race, but he started really well and was second at the time of his retirement.

Pro2 A Main
1. Ledocq Géry – Kyosho SC6
2. Evens Nicolas – TLR 22SCT
3. Maxime de Gauquier – TLR 22SCT


In Pro4 A-Finals, as Nicolas Evens is already sure to win the title, the question is still to know in which order Sam Damman and Sam Puttevils will access this year’s podium. In the first run, Sam Damman is on a class of his own and he is the only one to achieve 15 laps. In the meantime, unfortunately, Sam Puttevils experiences mechanical issues and has to retire. Fabio Cumps takes the second spot, followed by Eric Clerix. The second run is not better for Sam Puttevils, and he has to retire again after having completed only one lap. Once again all alone in the 15 laps mark, Sam Damman takes the win, followed by Kristof Desmet and Eric Clerix in this order, those two being separated by only one second! In the third and last run, Fabio Cumps makes a good move by winning it while Eric and Kristof have to retire. Sam Damman finishes second and Marteen Vander Mierde third. At the end of the day, Sam Damman tops the overall A-Main classification and takes the vice-champion title, Fabio being second and Eric, third.

Pro4 A Main
1. Damman Sam – TLR Ten-SCTE
2. Cumps Fabio – TLR Ten-SCTE
3. Eric Clerix – Tekno 410SCT

So the 2017 season is over, but we are all looking forward to 2018 for another year of close competition in the good atmosphere that define the Belgian SCT Cup. See you next year!

Podiums of the season:



Complete ranking is available here.

Comments are closed.